Recipes · Total Elimination Diet

Turkey and Rice Bake – Total Elimination Diet

Before I started the Total Elimination Diet we used to eat this Chicken, Broccoli, and Rice Bake fairly frequently.  It was easy to throw together and delicious.  After starting the Total Elimination Diet, I was desperate for something familiar and tasty.

I was able to adjust the ingredients and make a dish that was semi-similar.  It turned out yummy, creamy and I was able to get many of the ingredients that I could eat into one dish (score!). Plus it’s still fairly easy to throw together which is nice for when Baby O gets fussy while I’m trying to make dinner.

Ingredients:
•10.75 ounce Cream of…”Whatever” Soup
•1 1/3 cups water
•3/4 cup uncooked regular long-grain white rice
•1 cup sweet potatoes, chopped
•1 cup squash (yellow and/or green), chopped
•salt and pepper to taste
•2 cups turkey breast tenderloin, chopped

Instructions:
1) Directions
2) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
3) Stir the soup, water, salt and pepper in 9 x 13 inch baking dish.
4) Add rice, sweet potatoes, squash, and turkey to baking dish and mix to combine. Cover with foil.
5) Bake at 375 degrees for 45-55 minutes or until done.

Notes:
1. This was a little on the creamy/liquidy side for my taste. I think next time I’ll only use
1-1 & 1/4 cup of water.
2. This would be great with a crunchy topping. Next time I think I’ll blend some crunchy
rice cereal and sprinkle on top.
3. The picture shows two separate dishes.  I just simply split the water/soup/rice mixture
in half between two smaller dishes and then added veggies and meat appropriate for
who was gonna eat it.  Mine had turkey, squash and sweet potatoes and the hubby’s had
chicken, squash, corn and delicious spices.
4. ***During the Reintroduction Phase I started adding 1/2 tsp. dried parsley and 1/2 tsp. onion powder to the recipe once those items had been introduced.   I also changed up the veggies I’d add in sometimes to add variety.


This Turkey & Rice Bake was adapted from this 
recipe to meet the TED requirements. 

Leave a Reply

